Dvorák’s Serenade for Strings with Tower, Takemitsu, Copland & More


Blessed with the gift of melody, Antonín Dvorák poured his soul into his Serenade for Strings, finishing it in just 12 days. The music captivates throughout its five movements, moving from lyrical to high spirited to reflective to an exuberant finale. Also highlighted on this concert: Hear George Walker’s moving Lyric for Strings. Walker, the first Black composer to win the Pulitzer Prize for Music (1996), originally titled the piece Lament and dedicated it to his grandmother who had died the year prior. Joan Tower’s Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman No. 1 and Aaron Copland’s Fanfare for the Common Man bookend a group of pieces, featuring the Utah Symphony’s brass and percussion sections, spanning nearly 400 years from Giovanni Gabrieli’s Sonata pian’ e forte (1597) to Toru Takemitsu’s peaceful Night Signal – Signals from Heaven II (1987). Conductor David Robertson has served as Chief Conductor and Artistic Director of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra and held a transformative 13-year tenure as Music Director of the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra. Since 2018, he has served as Director of Conducting Studies, Distinguished Visiting Faculty, of The Juilliard School. Estimated concert length: 70 minutes (with no intermission). The programming on this performance has been modified to abide by local, state, and national health and safety recommendations. Single Tickets On Sale: October 12 at 12 pm.

Location information

123 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT, 84101

123 South Temple
Salt Lake City
Utah 84101
United States of America